Tag Archive for: Bhagavad Gita

Introduction of Bhagavad Gita

bhagavad Gita and krishna arjuna

Bhagavad Gita also known as Gitopanishad is a religious scripture foundational to Hinduism in World. It is part of the ancient Indian epic Mahabharata which was narrated by Veda Vyasa and written by Lord Ganesha. The text  contains the dialogue between the supreme Lord Krishna and Arjuna in the battlefield of Kurukshetra pertaining to philosophical and ethical questions. The scripture also contains teachings about life and dharma in the form of verses which makes it a revered text amongst millions of followers of the Sanatan Dharma.

What are the teachings of Bhagavad Gita?

The ancient text examines and elaborates on many philosophical topics which can be deduced to five basic truths these are as follows:

  1. The supreme godhead and controller which has various names like Isvara, Bhagavan, Krishna, Brahmana or Paramatma.
  2. Prakarti or material nature
  3. Jiva: the living entity or Soul.
  4. Kala: Eternal time.
  5. Karma: Activity of the Soul.


This book is a compilation of 700 Sanskrit verses in 18 chapters.  It is affirmed as part of world’s longest poetry Mahabharata which was written by Veda Vyasa.

The 18 Chapters of Bhagavad Gita are enlisted as follows:

  1. Observing the Armies on the battlefield.
  2. Contents of the Gita Summarized.
  3. Karma yoga.
  4. Transcendental Knowledge.
  5. Karma Yoga Action in Krishna consciousness.
  6. Dhyana Yoga.
  7. Knowledge of the Absolute.
  8. Attaining the supreme.
  9. The Most confidential knowledge.
  10. The opulence of the Absolute.
  11. The Universal Form.
  12. Devotional Service.
  13. Nature, the enjoyer and Consciousness.
  14. The Three modes of material nature.
  15. The Yoga of the supreme person.
  16. The Divine and demonic natures.
  17. The division of faith.
  18. Conclusion- The Perfection of Renunciation.

These names are taken from “Bhagavad Gita As it is”. Written by His Divine Grace Sirla Prabhupada.

For Bhagavad Gita Quotes