Akharas In Kumbh Mela

What is an Akhara (also akhada)?

An Akhara is a wrestling arena. It is an organization of the different sects of saints, Vairaghis, and yogis who have renounced the world. The history of an Akhara dates back to the circa 2500 BC when Adi Shankaracharya established seven Akharas (perhaps 10 as they are also known as Dasnaami), Mahanirvani, Niranjani, Atal, Avahan, Agni and Anand Akhara.
Akhadas came into existence during the 8th century AD when Adi Shankaracharya established seven Akhadas namely Mahanirvani, Niranjani, Juna, Atal, Avahan, Agni and Anand Akhara with an aim to strengthen the Hindu religion and unite those practicing different rituals, customs and beliefs.
At present, there are 3 major Akharas: Sanyasi, Bairagi and Nirmal and 3 minor Akharas (Atal affiliated with Mahanirvani, Anand affiliated with Niranjani and Avahan affiliated with Juna). Furthermore there is one small Brahmachari Akhara named Agni, affiliated to Juna.

Akharas are divided into different camps according to the concept of God they worship. Shaiva Akharas are for followers of Lord Shiva, Vaishnava or Vairagi Akhara are for followers of Lord Vishnu and Kalpwasis are for followers of Lord Brahma
An Akhara is further divided into 8 davas (divisions) and 52 marhis (centers). Each Marhi performs its spiritual activities under a Mahant. The central administrative body of the Akhara is Shree Panch (the body of five), representing Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva. Shaktiand and Ganesha.
The five-member body governing an Akhada is elected during every Kumbh Mela for a period of 4 years.
The biggest Akhara – computed by the number of the Saints in it – is Juna, then Niranjani and then Mahanirvani. The head of an Akhara is regarded as Acharya Mahamandaleshwar, followed by other Mahamandaleshwaras, Mandaleshwaras and Shree Mahants.
On the main bathing dates, a colorful and magnificent procession of radiant saints sitting on chariots and elephants is witnessed by thousands of Kumbh visitors. These sadhus, belonging to various camps take a dip in the holy Ganges first and only then the ordinary pilgrims are allowed to take bath in the river.
During the Kumbh Mela, the ceremonial procession of the Naga Sanyasis believed to be an auspicious sight has all the trappings of royalty. The Mahant is seated on a silver throne placed upon a caparisoned elephant. Around him are hundreds of Naga ascetics on foot, wielding lances, their naked bodies smeared with ash. Camels and Horses are also part of this procession which signifies the old Hindu organization of the Chaturanga sena, or four-limbed army, moving towards the holy waters of the Ganges.However, Mahanirvani Akhara is one of the most important of all and it is normally the first to take the ‘Shahi Snan’. Their praveshai (entry) and subsequent bath in the Holy Ganga officially marks the beginning of the Maha Kumbh.

During the ‘Shahi Snan’ thousands of devotees assemble near the road sides to get a glimpse of the procession of ascetics parading amidst tight security as they make their way to the Ghats.

List of the Main Akharas:

  1. Juna Akhara
  2. Niranjani Akhara
  3. Mahanirvani Akhara

Others Akharas:
Akhadas of Sanyasi:

  1. Shri Taponidhi Niranjani Akhada Panchayati
  2. Shri Panchayati Anand Akhada
  3. Shri Panchadashnam Juna Akhada
  4. Shri Panch Ahvan Akhada
  5. Shri Agni Akhada
  6. Shri Panchayat Akhada Mahanirvani
  7. Shri Panch Atal Akhada

Akharas of Bajrangi

  1. Shri Nirvani Akhada
  2. Shri Digambar Akhada
  3. Shri Nimrohi Akhada

Akharas of Nirmal

  1. Shri Panchayati Akhada
  2. Shri Udasin Panchayati Naya Akhada
  3. Shri Nirmal Panchayati Akhada
naga's at kumbh mela

Naga Sadhus at Kumbh Mela

9 replies
  1. Jai Shri Ram on Facebook
    Jai Shri Ram on Facebook says:

    Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram ♥ ऊँ♥ ऊँ♥ ऊँ♥ ऊँ ♥ ऊँ Jai ganesh♥ ऊँ ♥ ऊँ♥ ऊँJ♥ ऊँ♥ ऊँ ai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram ♥ ऊँ Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram Jai Shri Ram ♥ ऊँ बेगि हरो♥ ऊँ हनुमान महा प्रभु, जो कछु संकट होय ♥ ऊँ हमारो….See More

  2. dinesh
    dinesh says:

    hi, am planning to visit khumbmela during 6th-11th Feb’13.
    As per the dates of bathing, 10th vl be a main bathing day. my doubt is, normally the naga sadhus come out of their hideouts only on bathing days or, during the whole khumbmela. if they comeout only on bathing days, which bathing days are more prominent to sight them.

  3. sk singh
    sk singh says:


  4. biswanath chakraborty
    biswanath chakraborty says:

    i want to visit 29 of aug 2015 for kumbh snan, i want to know the time of bath during kumbh on 29 aug 15.

  5. Baby
    Baby says:

    Hi, could please tell me which Baba ji is good in solving solutions. As I have a situation here. Would appreciate if you can please give me his contact details.

    Thank you. Awaiting for your reply

  6. simhastha
    simhastha says:

    Simhastha Ujjain : About Akhara Parishad
    The Akhil Bharatiya Akhara Parishad or ABAP is the peak association of Hindu Sadhus and Sants who work for the conservation of Hindu religion and culture,Seen together particularly during the Kumbha Mela. Akharas in India truly implies a wrestling ring in Hindi and followers of Lord Shiva and Lord Vishnu. Adi Shankaracharya was the author of seven noteworthy Indian Akharas known as Mahanirvani, Niranjani, Juna, Atal, Avahan, Agni and Anand Akhara.

  7. नरेश वैष्णव बैरागी
    नरेश वैष्णव बैरागी says:

    I want bairagi vaisnav akhara कुंभ मेले का फोन नंबर चाहिए मैं आपने वैष्णव बैरागी अखाड़ों में रहकर देखना चाहता हूं और विद्वानों की चरण स्पर्श करना चाहता हूं प्रयागराज कुंभ मेला 2019


Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *